Five Grizzlies make MWL all-star team

    Mya Elder-Hammond, Tia Wilhelm and goalie Taylor Buckley were first-team selections and Eric Wolff was named a co-coach of the year, as the Ashland High girls soccer team was well represented on the Midwestern League girls soccer all-star team, released Thursday.

    Overall, the Grizzlies, who finished second to North Eugene in the MWL, had five first- or second-team picks and one honorable mention after going 6-1 in league play and 10-3-1 overall. Only North Eugene, which has advanced to today’s Class 5A state championship game, had more all-star picks. The Highlanders had three first-teamers, three second-teamers, and North Eugene senior Jordan Wormdahl was named the league’s player of the year.

    The MWL all-star team is voted on by the league’s coaches.

    Earning second-team honors for Ashland were Ginny Cotton and Hannah Haptonstall, and Mary Wilson was an honorable mention. Wolff shared the MWL’s coach of the year award with North Eugene’s Brandy Wormdahl.

    The Grizzlies qualified for the 16-team state tournament and fell in the opening round to Corvallis.


    PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Jordan Mormdahl, sr., North Eugene.

    COACHES OF THE YEAR — Eric Wolff, Ashland; Brandy Wormdahl, North Eugene.

    FIRST TEAM — Mya Elder-Hammond, sr., Ashland; Tia Wilhelm, sr., Ashland; Taylor Buckley, sr., Ashland; Emmi Freeman, so., Churchill; Maddie Young, jr., Churchill; Megan Kimball, sr., Marist; Jordan Wormdahl, sr., North Eugene; Kara Ryker, sr., North Eugene; Brittany Smith, sr., North Eugene; Tiffany Hilkey, sr., Thurston.

    SECOND TEAM — Ginny Cotton, sr., Ashland; Hannah Haptonstall, sr., Ashland; Katie Simon, jr., Churchill; McKenna Gugliotta, jr., Crater; Stephanie Roe, sr., Eagle Point; Annie McNeil, sr., Marist; Hannah Brandt, sr., North Eugene; Cassie Ericson, sr., North Eugene; Neviah Lee, so., Springfield; Payten Blilie, so., Thurston; Ashley Hayes, sr., Thurston; Audrey Ahlstrom, so., North Eugene.

    HONORABLE MENTION — Mary Wilson, so., Ashland; Haley Sherrill, fr., Churchill; Izabella Martinez, fr., Crater; Ana Lopez-Ramirez, jr., Eagle Point; Kyndsi Sundberg, sr., Marist; Sarah Hayes, jr., Marist; Sophie Cleland, so., North Eugene; Lauren Martines, jr., North Eugene; Kamryn Manley, jr., North Eugene; Gloria Alverez-Sanders, jr., Springfield; Alyssa Brund, sr., Churchill.


    Prep Volleyball

    Crater placed two players and Ashland one on the Midwestern League volleyball all-star first team in voting by the coaches.

    Crater’s Nehkyah Ellis, a junior outside hitter, and junior libero Rane Jensen made the first unit. Ashland was represented by senior middle blocker/outside hitter Alex Crane.

    Crater juniors Maya Van Hook and Syd Gray were chosen to the second team, as was Ashland junior Sydney Philpott.

    Marist’s Claire Hoffman and North Eugene’s Descinda Slaughter, both seniors, were co-players of the year, while North Eugene’s Dave Merrill was selected for the coaching honor.


    PLAYERS OF THE YEAR — Claire Hoffman, sr., Marist; Descinda Slaughter, sr., North Eugene.

    COACH OF THE YEAR — Dave Merrill, North Eugene.

    FIRST TEAM — Claire Hoffman, OH, sr., Marist; Descinda Slaughter, OH, sr., North Eugene; Taylor Williams, OH, jr., Churchill; Alex Crane, MB/OH, sr., Ashland; Kaitlen Haas, OH, jr., Thurston; Nehkyah Ellis, OH, jr., Crater; Hannah Randall, S, so., North Eugene; Rane Jensen, L, jr., Crater.

    SECOND TEAM — Christiana Fountain, sr., Marist; Morgan Gray, jr., Thurston; Alexis Hobie, fr., North Eugene; Taylor Londo, so., North Eugene; Maya Van Hook, jr., Crater; Syd Gray, jr., Crater; Alexi Sparks, jr., Thurston; Sydney Philpott, jr., Ashland.

    HONORABLE MENTION — Britney Duvall, sr., Marist; Emily DeVall, jr., Ashland; Alyssa Ogan, sr., Thurston’ Peyton Espinosa, jr., Churchill; Ryleigh Gainey, sr., Eagle Point; Che’ Kuhse, sr., Springfield; McKenna Miller, jr., Thurston; McKenna Williams, jr., Marist; Emily Collie, fr., North Eugene; Heather Colmer, jr., Crater.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...